Skip to Main Content


Skip Nav Destination

DMM outstanding paper prize

Each year, DMM awards a £1000 prize to the first author (or authors, where there is joint authorship) of the Research article that is judged by the journal’s editors to be the most outstanding in the journal that year. Starting with articles published in 2022, DMM will also award £1000 to the first author (or authors, where there is joint authorship) of the Resource article that is judged by the editors to be the most outstanding that year. Establishing a separate award for Resource articles reflects their increasing importance in advancing disease research. DMM Resource articles report a novel technique or approach, or a substantial advance of an existing technique or approach, or new dataset or resource that will be of broad and significant utility in a particular area of disease research. Find out more here or read our archive.

All Research and Resource articles are eligible for consideration. The recipient of the award will be the author (non-faculty) who made the most significant contribution to the article (most usually the first author). The Editorial Office will contact the corresponding authors of the winning papers to establish who should receive the prize.

The shortlist of selected papers and overall winners will be announced in DMM, along with a short profile of the winning authors.

Previous winners

2021 Daniel Bronder: TP53 loss initiates chromosomal instability in fallopian tube epithelial cells.

2020 Sarah Colijn: Cell-specific and athero-protective roles for RIPK3 in a murine model of atherosclerosis.

2019 Alessandro Bailetti: Enhancer of Polycomb and the Tip60 complex repress hematological tumor initiation by negatively regulating JAK/STAT pathway activity.

2018 Wenqing Zhou: Neutrophil-specific knockout demonstrates a role for mitochondria in regulating neutrophil motility in zebrafish.

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal